The Uniform EMS Ordinance, and related Interlocal Agreements, establish the Area Metropolitan Ambulance Authority, dba MedStar Mobile Healthcare. In conjunction with each member city’s fire or police EMS first-response, the MedStar System provides service to more than 936,000 residents over 436 square miles, and responds to approximately 125,000 emergency calls a year. The mission is to provide high quality patient care in an efficient, accountable, and cost effective fashion. To ensure a high standard of clinical care for the System, the Ordinance also establishes the Emergency Physicians Advisory Board (EPAB) to provide medical di-rection and oversight to the entire system.

These protocol’s jurisdictional authority pertains to the following members of the MedStar System:

Area Metropolitan Ambulance Authority

dba MedStar Mobile Healthcare

Fort Worth Fire Department

Fort Worth Police Department

Burleson Fire Department

Forest Hill Fire Department

Haltom City Fire Department

Haslet Fire Department

Lake Worth Fire Department

Blue Mound Fire Department

Edgecliff Village Fire Department

River Oaks Fire Department

Saginaw Fire Department

Sansom Park Fire Department

Westover Hills Police Department

Westworth Village Police Department

White Settlement Fire Department

*Lockheed Martin (FW) Fire Department

* EPAB does not provide direct medical oversight for these agencies

OMD protocols apply only during official responses within the member jurisdictions, to personnel who are considered to be “On-Duty” by their respective agencies. Agencies responding to mutual aid requests are expected to operate under them as well.

In the case of a regional disaster, providers who normally operate under these protocols will continue to do so, regardless of the location of the disaster, until other instructions can be provided.

Contact Us

Drop us a line!

Office of the Medical Director

2900 Alta Mere Drive Fort Worth, TX 76110 US

(817) 923-1500


Open today

09:00 am – 05:00 pm